Iris’s Interview [Round 9, Chapter 85, Ralston]

The last candidate Iris Dove walked in and sat down.

“Thanks for being so patient Iris,” began Gavin.

“It’s not a problem, someone had to go last, right?”

“We’ll just jump right in with the questions, okay? Tell us a little bit about yourself, whatever you’d like us to know about you.”

“I come from a large family,” began Iris. “Well, it is large on my father’s side. I was raised by mother. My dad loved and cared for me but I have always been closer to my mother. She inspired me to be a painter, and follow my dreams. Family is very important to me. I love to cook and be social with my friends. A good book doesn’t hurt too.”

“We’re so happy to hear that you think family is important,” said Akira. “If we pick you, hopefully yours won’t mind sparing you for a bit. So, what made you want to be a surrogate?”

“I want to help a couple who long for a child to have one,” said Iris. “As family is important to me, I would love to know that by being a surrogate, I am helping in a small way to create a family.”

“We can definitely appreciate how important family is to you,” said Gavin. “Along those lines, what are your thoughts on contact with the children after your surrogacy is complete?”

“I think it would be great to be able to have the option for some contact with the children, so if they had any questions I could answer them. It would also be great to see what they grow up to look like.”

“Just so you know,” said Akira, “the original plan was to have a closed adoption once the surrogacy agreement is complete. But the more we speak with each candidate, the more we think that we may change that plan if both sides agree.”

Iris nodded her understanding as Akira continued. “Just to switch gears to an off-topic question. You said your mother inspired you to be a painter? What is your dream career in terms of that? Like, where do you see yourself ending up in the painting career?”

“Mum never got to achieve her career,” said Iris. “She has encouraged me to do what I love which was to paint. I have always been doing some form of art and it makes me happy. My ultimate dream would be for someone to see my art and it move them emotionally. I would love to get as high as I could and be a master of the real one day.”

“It’s great that you have the ambition and passion to want to be a master of the real,” said Gavin. ” If we choose you, we will make sure you have all the painting supplies you need so you don’t fall behind on our watch. Now, aside from the painting, tell us more about your traits and aspirations, and how you think they add up to you making a great surrogate.”

“I am a cheerful and creative goofball,” said Iris, “which means I love to laugh. I believe a sense of humour is important. My lifetime aspiration is to one day be a super parent to my own child and raise them in a family unit, something I sadly didn’t have. I would bring this to being a surrogate by making sure that I find the positive in every situation and would hope that we would have a lot of fun along the way.”

“That’s an admirable goal,” said Akira, “and we certainly understand how important family is. It’s nice to know that if we had you around, we could count on a good time. Well, you’ve answered all of our questions Iris. Before we end things, do you have any questions for us or anything you’d like to add?”

“I just want to say thank you so much, and I wish you both the best.”

She stood to leave, and both guys could barely wait until she was out of the room before they began speaking to each other.

“So she was nice too, right? I liked her too, dammit,” said Akira.

“She was,” agreed Gavin, “but I don’t know if she gave me enough to sway me away from my favorites.”

“You’re not supposed to have a favorite,” said Akira.

“Please,” said Gavin, “you have your favorites too. You know you love Aubree, and Jessie, and Rory. I’m not even sure if you want Rory to be the surrogate, you want her to be your BFF.”

“There’s just something about her! But I don’t know if I want her to be my BFF,” Akira smiled sincerely at Gavin “I already have a BFF. You!”

“Oh, aren’t you sweet,” said Akira. “Okay, let’s go back over each lady while we wait for Laurel to bring their files to us.”

“I think that’s a good idea,” said Gavin. “Hopefully we can come to a consensus. Laurel said if we choose a girl today, she can just stay here.”

“Then let’s hope we can come to an agreement today before our candidates leave town.”

They received the files on each woman from Laurel before they left the building and scanned them on their way home.

AUBREE HART

Birthplace: Plumbob City 
Hometown (if different): Same 
Occupation: Unemployed 
Marital Status: Single 
Any previous pregnancies/children, 
   and if so, how many: None

CANDACE “CANDY” OCHOA

Birthplace: Twinbrook
Hometown: Same
Occupation: Mixologist
Marital Status: Single
Any previous pregnancies/children, 
   and if so, how many: One pregnancy, one child.

CORINA SAUCEDO

Birthplace: Oasis Springs
Hometown (if different): Willow Creek
Occupation: Dot-Com Pioneer
Marital Status: Single
Any previous pregnancies/children, 
   and if so, how many: None

JESSIE SPINKS

Birthplace: Newcrest
Hometown (if different): Same
Occupation: Unemployed
Marital Status: Single
Any previous pregnancies/children, 
   and if so, how many: None

AURORA VAUGHN

Birthplace: Windenburg, Germany
Hometown (if different): Falkenburg, Germany
Occupation: Nurse's Assistant with plans to become 
   a fully licensed nurse
Marital Status: Single
Any previous pregnancies/children, 
   and if so, how many: None

IRIS DOVE

Birthplace: San Myshuno
Hometown: Oasis Springs
Occupation: Painter
Martial Status: Single
Any previous pregnancies/children, 
   and if so, how many: None
Author’s Note: Iris Dove was submitted by SmallSeven01, who writes over at SarahLouPlays. She’s still a toddler in that story, but you’ll see her around in the future.

11 thoughts on “Iris’s Interview [Round 9, Chapter 85, Ralston]

      1. This has been so fun for me to read ! I was excited each morning for the next installment ! Often I don’t much care about selection stories but I loved this one because I knew many of the origins of these Sims, plus I love Gavin and Akira !

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m so glad you had fun. What you’ve said is exactly why I wanted to make sure all my ladies came from other stories.

        If I can finish editing it, I’m going to post today to announce which girl they picked!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

