Decision Made [Round 9, Chapter 76, Ralston]

“Don’t mind your grandmother’s face, my boy,” said Cristian. “I swear she had a good afternoon. Too good of an afternoon if you catch my drift.”

“Yeah, I get it,” said Gavin.

“By that I mean, we’re getting too old to fool around in park observatories.”

“Yeah, I got it.”

“And by fool around, I mean consummate our vow renewal.”

“Yeah, I got it.”

“And by consummate, I mean–”

“I GOT IT,” said Gavin, drowning out Cristian’s increasingly explicit explanation of how he and Kenya spent their afternoon.

Cristian laughed and said, “Okay, let’s talk about something else then. I can’t help it if we still got it all these years though.”

Akira wasn’t nearly as bothered as Gavin was. He said, “I think it’s great, and it’s goals. We should be so lucky when we’re they’re age.”

“See? He gets it,” said Cristian with a smile.

“Didn’t you say we were going to talk about something else? I vote these boys update us on if they’ve discussed their future any further,” said Kenya. At first it seemed like she was trying to save Gavin, but she just threw him back in the hot seat.

They was ready for it this time.

“You wanna tell her?”

“Nah, you go ahead,” said Gavin. For a politician, he wasn’t always fond of taking center stage and doing all the talking if he could help it.

“Alright, so here’s the deal, elder Ralstons. Gavin and I have talked about our future, and we agree that we’re really in this for the long haul. We both see ourselves growing old together. However, we don’t really see the point in getting married. We’ll just be partners, lifelong partners. We live together, we’re committed, what’s the point?”

“What’s the point?” Kenya was disappointed. She turned to Gavin, “does this mean what I think it means?”

“Don’t worry,” said Gavin with a smile, “we also agree that we both want kids. That’s right, kids with an s at the end.”

“He speaks no lies,” said Akira. “We want kids, and we don’t have strong opinions on when we have them. You see, the four of us are a familly. And family compromises. We want kids, you want us to have them. So maybe we didn’t intend to have them this soon. But who cares? We are going to do it, and you all will get to enjoy your great-grandchildren!”

“Really?!”

Cristian and Kenya exclaimed their happiness at the same time. Kenya looked at Cristian, who up until now hadn’t stated his opinion on the matter.

Kenya: I knew he wanted them to have kids as much as I did!

Cristian: Ooops, now she knows I was rooting for this too. It’s never too late to play it cool though.

Gavin: Wow, they really wanted this. I’m glad they let us come to this decision on our own though.

Akira: I’m so lucky to be a part of this family. Who knows when I would’ve had kids if left up to my own devices.

“Okay, now that’s settled,” said Cristian, “what’s the plan to get the grandkids here? Adoption?”

“Great question, said Akira. “Actually, we’re thinking of surrogacy.”

“I’m going to check with Laurel to see if she can help us,” said Gavin.

“The woman is constantly pregnant,” said Kenya, “what’s another pregnancy?”

“Whoa,” said Gavin as everyone else chuckled,” that’s not what I meant. Plus Laurel said she’s done having babies. No, I meant she might have a connect to a surrogacy program.”

“Why do you need a connection? I would think with your credentials and finances, it wouldn’t be a problem,” said Cristian.

“It’s a bigger problem than you’d think,” said Gavin. “I was born here, but Akira is a relatively recent immigrant. We’re not married, and our official relationship is brand new. The finances aren’t an issue, but everything else seems to be.”

“Well damn,” said Cristian.

“Exactly,” said Akira. “But we’re committed to each fathering a child, if we can find the right surrogate. Gavin thinks Laurel could help us, so we’ll try that first before considering adoption.”

“Wow,” said Kenya, “I feel bad you boys have to go through so much.”

“We want to expand our family, and getting started now rather than later is merely a small detail,” said Akira. “Don’t you worry about it.”

“I’m not worried,” said Cristian, “and I’ll make sure Kenya here doesn’t worry either. It sounds like you all have a good place to start on your plan. Just keep us updated, okay?”

“No problem,” said Akira.

“Are you sure this is the best way to ask for help finding a surrogate?”

Akira looked around the ruins of Windenburg hesitantly. He’d been to many a party here, but never conducted any business here.

“Don’t worry,” said Gavin, “it’ll be fine. Think of it as a hang between friends and my club. You all will get a chance to know each other better, and after everyone is chill and bonfire-happy, we’ll check in with Laurel to see if she can help us.”

“Okay, but I–”

“Hey guys! Thanks for joining us out here,” interrupted Gavin. He wanted Akira to just chill out and enjoy getting to know his friends better. He knew they were there for an important reason, but they could have more than one important reason to all gather together.

“It’s been so long since I hung out here,” said Laurel.

“Me too,” said Carmen. “Oh hey, Baby, I didn’t know you were coming.”

“Yeah, I’m pretty good friends with Gavin, Akira, and Luca, so how could I turn down two separate invitations to the same hang?”

“The more the merrier,” said Carmen. “Anyone else coming?”

“Just me and this weird ass alie–I mean unique individual,” said Luca as he arrived with Bo. Luca was shirtless again, and Bo had kneeled on the ground to play with a toy from his pocket. “Oh, and I invited my father-in-law. Liz wants us to be a ‘closer family’. I hope that’s not a problem.”

“Not at all, “said Carmen. “I love our club meetings, but it’s even better when we can expand our circle. I’ve been friends with your mother-in-law Hope since your wedding, so it’ll be nice to get to know Gunner too.”

Gunner arrived, and the group was complete.

“Thanks for coming out everyone,” said Gavin. “You all know I don’t like making big speeches unless I’m campaigning, but Akira and I wanted to bring everyone together because we have news.”

 

Several voices rang out. “You’re getting married?”

“Heh, no,” said Gavin. “But we’ve decided we’re ready to start a family!”

7 thoughts on “Decision Made [Round 9, Chapter 76, Ralston]

  1. Noobooooooos! (Also, Baby sighting! Half of my fave D&D ship 😉 ) The beginning with Cristian talking about their shenanigans in the observatory KILLED me. I’m on a plane right now and you made me start giggling out loud hehehe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, poor Gavin. You think he’d be used to his grandparents by now, but nope, be never likes hearing about their love life.

      And yes, Baby! Baby is the best. He should be a pre-made. I should add his whole family to the gallery so everyone can play with them. My favorite townie family ever.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay! Noobos on the way! Now I’m really curious in how the interviews are going to be! And i know is morbid, but I hope the kids grow old enought to the point they at least remember their grand-grandparents…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

