Let’s Make This Official [Round 9, Chapter 74, Ralston]

In the time since Gavin, Kenya, and Cristian Ralston moved in with Akira Kibo, life had been good, really good. The biggest sign of how good things were was Gavin’s latest promotion. Things were going well in his career, and when it came time to to choose a branch, he decided to become a politician.

Most of his family and friends told him they’d be happy to vote for him, and encouraged him in his choice. Gavin was nervous, but ultimately decided it was the right choice for him.

Being in an office five days a week didn’t appeal to Gavin, so sometimes he worked from home. One morning, he was supposed to be getting ready to pound the pavements and drum up votes, but instead he was glued to his computer screen. His characters had just fallen in love and they were… expressing… their love in the hot tub.

Gavin wasn’t the only one not rushing off to work that day. Akira, Cristian, and Kenya were enjoying breakfast. There was a full formal dining table and a peninsula with a ton of seating in the kitchen, but sometimes they just sat together on the couch and watching TV during meals.

“I’m so glad you all are here with me,” said Akira happily. “I haven’t eaten this well since I moved to San Myshuno. Cristian, you really are an amazing chef.”

Cristian murmured his thanks, but he was only half listening. His favorite thing to do after cooking an excellent meal was to watch Kenya enjoy her food. This morning, he could tell Kenya had something on her mind, but figured he’d ask about it once they were alone.

After breakfast, Akira finally headed into the office, and Kenya headed to the computer that Gavin wasn’t using to write her column for the day. Cristian headed to the kitchen. He wanted to mix himself up a drink before he talked to Kenya. She was never usually a quiet person, but she’d been a much more reserved version of herself since they moved in with Akira.

Kenya worked on her article, encouraging all her readers to check out the new Royal Swann restaurant once it opened. She’d gotten a preview at their soft open and was very excited for the food, decor, and service after they opened their doors for real.

Another feature of this new apartment were the insanely large bathrooms. Kenya and Cristian were happy to be in there at the same time.

Cristian asked Kenya if she wanted to share what was on her mind. She promised she would talk about it once she sorted it out in her head. He accepted that for the time being.

They spent the rest of the afternoon in the apartment. They chatted with each other, used the chess table, read one of the many books, watched TV, and enjoyed each other’s company.

Cristian left for work around the same time Gavin and Akira returned from their jobs. Gavin asked Akira to meet him in the bedroom.

“You wanted to meet in the bedroom?”

“Yeah, I did,” said Gavin. “I love where the look on your face is taking this, but first I have something I want to say.”

“Oh wow,” said Akira playfully, “you’re actually going to use your words? This I have to hear!”

Gavin took a deep breath. “I don’t exactly have a full speech prepared, but still, let me finish before you interrupt okay?”

Akira chuckled and said, “I promise, I won’t interrupt.”

“Thanks. Okay, so I was thinking about our lives together. Since we met, we’ve been such close friends, and that friendship blossomed into more as soon as we were both open to it. You’ve welcomed my family into your home, and it feels like we’ve always been here together, as a family, the four of us. But… well, I was thinking of making things more official.”

Akira’s eyes got wide because he wasn’t sure where Gavin was going with this, but he promised he wouldn’t interrupt.

“I’m still new at this being-with-a-man thing, and I don’t know if the rules are different. I probably sound so stupid right now, but, well, I wanted to know if you wanted to be my boyfriend? Like officially my boyfriend?”

Akira was very proud of himself for not laughing aloud. He thought Gavin’s speech was very sweet and cute. He knew Gavin was nervous and was so worried about offending, so he chose his words very carefully.

“There are no set rules for same sex couples, just like there are no rules with heterosexual couples,” said Akira. “I guess because I asked you all to move in, I figured you knew I was committed and in this for the long haul.”

“Well, yes,” said Gavin, “I knew you were committed, but I just wasn’t sure what to refer to us as, and I didn’t want to start calling you my boyfriend without talking to you about it first.”

“You’re sweet, and I really appreciate that,” said Akira. “Tell you what? Let’s start with becoming officially boyfriends today, and soon we’ll discuss what other official relationship things we’ll undertake, okay? I don’t want you to ever have to guess where you stand with me.”

Gavin was visibly relieved. “Well, for the record, I don’t want to rush into any big decisions. We’re both still Young Adults, we’ve got plenty of time. But I am happy I now know what to call you.”

“Should we commemorate the occasion with a photo?”

The two men leaned their heads towards each other as Akira snapped a selfie.

Gavin was excited about their new official relationship status. He said he wanted to change out of his clothes he’d been wearing to work all day because he “smelled like outside.” After he changed, they went to find Kenya to share the news.

“So, in case you didn’t know,” said Gavin, “Akira is officially my boyfriend now.”

“Oh really? Well, I kind of thought you all had already taken care of that part,” said Kenya. “When you said you had news, I was hoping you were going to say you were engaged! Then I was going to ask when I could see some great-grandbabies!”

“Babies?! We… we haven’t discussed anything beyond boyfriends,” said Gavin, looking to Akira for help. Akira stayed unhelpfully silent.

“Well, why not? Don’t you want to get married and start a family?”

Gavin and Akira exchanged a very uncomfortable look while Kenya waited for an answer.

17 thoughts on “Let’s Make This Official [Round 9, Chapter 74, Ralston]

  1. OMG Gavin’s little speech was so adorable.They’re such a cute couple! 😛 And gotta love Kenya at the end there 😉 I agree… Marriage and nooboos! You have aging on and they aren’t getting any younger here… Chop chop! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. She sounds like my husband! When my son and his now wife had been dating for a couple of years he started asking what their “intentions” were every single time they were around. She would always say”no intentions!” But they did eventually have intentions to get married! So funny.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The end of this reminded me so much of my grandpa. 😀 He was always asking us kids when we were going to get married and give him great grandkids. He was so happy when my oldest cousin told him she was pregnant. His first great grandchild. She was born 5 weeks after we lost grandpa.those last 8 months we’re happy for him though. Just knowing he had that baby on the way kept him fighting longer. 😀 Now three of his great grandsons carry his name as their middle name, including my youngest nephew (the G in my screen name).

    I think Kenya is concerned about how Gavin and Akita are going to give her great grand babies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy this post reminded you of happy memories with your grandfather. My grandmother has 7 grandchildren, all basically of child-bearing age, but only one great-grandchild. She’s not thrilled that there are so few great-grandchildren, lol.

      I was wondering what went into your screen name. Is it an acronym of sorts of a bunch of names?

      Kenya’s main concern is confirming they want kids, she’s not even thinking yet about how they’ll do it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The only kids I have are furry with four legs. I am unable to have my own so I claim my sister’s kids as mine. A couple of them even call me their second mom. Using them for my screen name was a no-brainer to me.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, no…I can imagine what is happening next, but, let’s leave the discussion for the next chapter shall we? Now, about this chapter…Ouch, Gavin, dear,your are lucky that Akira loves you, althought, i can understand his confusion on this new ”area” le’ts say…And what could been in Kenya’s mind?Could it be about Gavin’s parent’s coming..?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Since I’m playing catch up right now for the Ralstons, I’m furiously writing, haha.

      The good news is that there will chapters every day until I catch up!

      To answer your question, no she’s not thinking about his parents–at least not just yet…

      And yes, Gavin is very lucky Akira loves him. That love affords a lot of patience.

      Like

Leave a Reply

