Pen Pal Letter D5: Big News!!

Dear Sienna,

I know you haven’t had a chance to write me back yet, and that’s totally fine. If anyone understands being too busy, it’s me. But I didn’t want to wait to share my news. So much has happened since I last wrote to you. I didn’t even change my clothes when I got home, I just came right to the computer to write this letter.

You know I was pregnant, but I’m pretty sure I never made it clear I was having triplets. Triplets!! We had two girls and a boy. The girls are Hannah and Hailey. We named our son Henry. Those three are a handful, and Quincy and I totally feel outnumbered all the time because there are only two of us.

If we read the kids to sleep at bedtime, we either have to have one go without a story, or have one with a later bedtime. Trust me when I say, it’s better to get them all to sleep at the same time.

 

Henry is the only one who got Quincy’s red hair.

So far Hailey is the only one who seems to have inherited my poor eyesight.

Hannah has this amazing curly hair that reminds me of Luca. I love my brother, but I hope that’s the only thing she inherits from him!

We’ve been spending far less time at Quincy’s parents’ house because the house his mother built for us was completed and we moved in!

Quincy swears there’s something wrong with this house, but I just don’t feel it. Most of my time is spent taking care of the triplets, and when I’m not doing that, I’m on the computer for work, but every now and then I get to squeeze in a moment to play video games online on our nice big TV. All I notice is that our home has crazy fast internet.

I also notice how whenever I’m near Quincy, I feel so amorous towards him. I don’t know if that’s because of the house or because of something else. I like to think it’s because watching him work his magic as the world’s best dad is really amazing–and kinda hot. Quincy is definitely a DILF. Sorry if that’s TMI, haha.

Goodness, I am burying the lede here. We’re engaged!!! That’s what I’m coming home from, from getting engaged! I’ll tell you the whole story.

I was working on my latest book in the office last night when I heard synchronized laughter from the triplets. That’s usually never good news, so I immediately stopped what I was doing to go check on them. I walked into the living room to find Quincy whispering conspiratorially with our toddlers.

How he managed to get them to keep his secret, I’ll never know. But my babies didn’t give up the goods to me when I asked what they were all talking about. Should I be worried that they’re that good at keeping secrets already?

This all happened at bedtime, so we put them to bed then went to sleep ourselves. This morning, I got a call from Quincy’s mom asking if I could hang out with Emilie for the day. Quincy assured me it was fine, he had the triplets well handled and encouraged me to go. I love little Emilie, so I agreed. Mrs. Epstein had me meet Emilie in Windenburg at the Von Haunt Estate.

When I got there, Emilie and my son Henry were at the top of the stairs.

They gave the cutest speech (well, Emilie did) about family and how I was such a good mom and auntie, and if only it were official.

They sent me upstairs to the balcony overlooking the entrance. Up there was another of Quincy’s sisters, Robyn. With her was my daughter Hannah. They gave me another speech (Robyn did, obviously) about growing up and life not happening the way you think, but going better than you could have planned.

At this point, it occurred to me that something was up. If my kids were here, that had to mean Quincy was too, right? Was this the proposal I’d been waiting for? I got excited because I’d been mistaken so many times before about it being proposal time. So I just rolled with it, determined to enjoy the moment, even if this was just some weird look-at-what-our-blended-families-can-do moment.

Robyn and Hannah sent me back downstairs where I saw my brother Luca and my other daughter Hailey. At this point, I figured it would be cruel for this not to be a proposal, but I held my tongue while I listened to my brother espouse the virtues of love. He spoke about how each new love that enters one’s life adds to the loves before it, making you an even more complete person.

I assume Quincy wrote the speeches given by his sisters and my brother. It was everything he needed me to believe about our love and our families. I couldn’t wait to see him because we were out of children, so he had to be next.

I happily followed Luca outside. he showed me where Quincy was waiting for me. Quincy gave a nice speech about love, and time spent together, and combining families. He reminded me that he meant it when he said he’d give me the world. It may not look like the Von Haunt Estates, but it was a full and happy life.

Sienna, when he got down on one knee, I almost died. I would’ve been just another ghost haunting the maze, but my heart was so full, I didn’t think I could take it.

He asked me to marry him, and I said yes, and the ring was beautiful, and I leaped into his arms, and it was amazing. It was the perfect proposal. Quincy included my favorites parts of his family and my family, and even got our triplets to keep their white outfits clean for the entire morning!

It really was worth the wait. I’ve never been more happy. I know an even happier day is coming soon though–our wedding day!

Okay, that’s all my news: new house, triplets, and finally engaged! I’m due for another promotion at work soon, and I’m trying to decide if I want to go the writer route or the journalist route. Any advice?

I know I asked a bunch of questions in my last letter, so I won’t ask more. But don’t forget to answer those questions if you can!

Looking forward to hearing from you soon!

15 thoughts on “Pen Pal Letter D5: Big News!!

  1. Aw! I love this! How adorable is that family! Daniella is so cute when she’s excited and rambling. I can’t wait for Sienna to write back! It’s been too long since I’ve gotten inside her head. Hopefully I can find some time to write before August. (I have got to stop believing the hype that summer is relaxing. It’s my busiest season!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, I know right! I’m writing right now, and I just feel so perpetually behind all of July. I’m looking forward to that letter whenever you get it done, no rush.

      I’m seriously impressed with the pen pals who write to each other like every week. I prefer our pacing, but still, very impressed.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, right.

      He would’ve proposed sooner, really he would’ve. But then Luca met Liz and got married, then he and Daniella got pregnant, then they we waiting on their new house, then they were dealing with three infants! As soon as it made sense for him to do a big proposal, he made it happen.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

