Pen Pal Letter D4: So My Brain Isn’t Working, But That’s Okay

You can read Sienna’s most recent letter to Daniella here.

Dear Sienna,

Sorry for the delay in responding. I’ve been so busy!

Quincy and I moved in together, but not into his parents’ house. We spend a ton of time there though. It’s been nice to get to the know the family even more, especially Robyn. She’s always been fun, but she’s such a mature Teen now, and a joy to be around.

It’s not that I didn’t want to move in with the Epsteins. I just couldn’t.

I couldn’t because… we’re pregnant!! Completely accidental. I blame Elizabeth, Luca’s new wife. That’s right, his wife. They got married like 5 seconds after my last letter to you.

Perhaps blame is too strong of a word. It’s not like she knocked me up. It’s just that the day of the wedding, I was so upset that they were even getting married in the first place. I had a few drinks, and when Quincy showed up after he got off work, well, you know how babies are made.

Needless to say, once I knew I had at least one plus one on board, there wasn’t room at Quincy’s house. So we got a new one! Mrs. Epstein doesn’t like our neighborhood though. So she’s building us a new house nearer to where they live. You read that right. The woman is having a house built for us. It should be completed right after the birth, so we’ll only have to be at this house for a short while.

Luca isn’t very happy that we didn’t just stay with him and Elizabeth. But I couldn’t stay there with her. I don’t want to be around that future dumpster fire. They don’t even know each other, and when they get to know each other, it will not end well. Mark my words. But I still visit him as often as I can.

This is such an unexpected moment in life, and not at all part of the plan. But spending time with little Emilie, my favorite future sister, lets me know that me and Quincy are gonna be alright as parents.

Okay, now to your letter. I didn’t feel offended at all by the your use of the word mortal, I just never knew anyone immortal before. But I like it, it’s like being taught a new dialect. And now I know someone new who is  immortal, but through degrees of separation. I think I mentioned that my brother Luca is in this club with Quincy’s mom? There’s this woman in their club, who’s really nice and a lot of fun. This woman’s son’s father’s wife is a vampire. How many degrees of separation is that? Four? Five?

Well, anyway, when Luca was telling me about this, apparently it’s some big secret. I don’t understand why it would be a secret though. In my last letter, I told you we suspected that the vampires near us were marrying mortal Sims and moving into regular neighborhoods. But apparently, I’m not supposed to have enough logic to figure that out. Some sort of Worst Kept Secret thing, or whatever. Maybe I’m just having pregnancy brain. Luckily, no one minds. They just rub my belly and forget about whatever rambling thought just came out my mouth.

The reason I’m bringing this up is because Luca was talking about vampire hunting again. Their expedition was to get garlic, they never wanted to do actual harm to the vampires. But the way Luca talks about his friend’s boyfriend’s wife, it worries me. I can’t imagine what he could do to overpower her or cause her harm, but based on his current line of work, I suppose it’s possible for him to find a way.

I appreciate your reassurance that vampire traits are mostly dormant throughout childhood. I do take comfort that they don’t develop until a certain amount of maturity has also developed.

I know you said not much upsets you, but I still hope what I’ve said doesn’t upset you. I guess I’m looking for more reassurance that I won’t have to worry about my brother ending up in jail for doing something to her, probably on some misguided attempt to help his friend. Vampires are immortal, so there isn’t much he can do right?

Moving on to better topics. Your ideas of what you wanted to be before you knew your true heritage are intriguing. I wonder what makes a teenage girl want to be an assassin. Can you tell me more about that? I didn’t grow up around anyone who called themselves an assassin, but there were some people, like Flat-Nose Tony, who were known as hitters. OMG, I haven’t talked to anyone about that since we left Veronaville, not even Quincy. Let’s move on, I’m getting a headache.

Quincy still hasn’t proposed, but I’m feeling less anxiety about it now. Maybe it’s the fact that we’re living together, and tied together forever via our babies. Maybe it’s that he shows me everyday how much he loves me. Maybe it’s that I know how romantic he is. I know he’s going to want to make the proposal special, and not have it happen while I’m the size of a house.

To answer your question about my world: I never really thought of it as big. San Myshuno is the major city. Just outside the city to the East is Newcrest, which is basically an exurb. We’ve got also Willow Creek to the South, which is basically a suburb, but not so far you can’t still see the city office buildings in the distance.

Just over the mountains of San Myshuno to the north we have Windenburg, which runs all the way down to the shore. And sort of northwest from those same mountains is a desert area called Oasis Springs. There’s other things outside of the main towns, like a shopping district, hospital, and police station that are halfway between Newcrest and Willow Creek. The super secret science lab (more poorly kept secrets, lol) is in the desert, but the location is only disclosed to employees and test subjects. Oh, and the campgrounds of Granite Falls that you pass on the way to Forgotten Hollow (they actually share a waterfall).

Speaking of Forgotten Hollow, people usually get there leaving from Oasis Springs, heading further west, but good luck finding it on a map. You just leave around noon, follow this one road that looks darker and more suspicious with each passing mile, and by sundown you’re there.

 

I say all of that to say that I’m not sure if we’re in the same dimension or not. Do you live in any of those locations? But even if we’re in a different dimension, I bet travel between them is possible. I’m no scientist, so I can’t imagine how it would work, but the things that have happened since we moved to Windenburg makes me think anything is possible.

My brother is being weird right now concerning vampires, but everyone else seems relatively back to normal. We’ve all got our garlic wreaths by the front door and none of us have had any scary visits.

Reading through your letter made me smile. I love how dedicated you are to  your people, especially considering you didn’t know of your responsibility to them until recently. I am amused by Carrington reminding you to get an heir. As if you could just produce one. Well, I suppose you could, but I get the impression your priorities lie more in finding a good partner for a solid family, not just producing an heir.

Also, if the target on your back gets smaller, doesn’t that mean it’s shared with your kids? That’s seems… well it seems obnoxious! Not very stand-in-father-ly if you ask me.

I’m almost nervous to ask, but did your problem-fixer handle what you needed them to? Feel free to ignore that if it’s too probing into business that doesn’t concern me. I was just worried about it, and then you didn’t say anything about it in your letter. I figured if you had to call in secret outside help, it must be important.

Okay, this headache is getting worse, which means it’s time for second breakfast. Even though we don’t live with Quincy’s parents, we still sleep over often. I think I mentioned that already, haha. Pregnancy brain is a poor excuse when people can’t tell you’re pregnant from the front. I should walk at an angle so people understand!

Either way, I’m going to get some delicious food cooked by my future mother-in-law, and take a nap on Quincy’s super comfortable bed, which is way nicer than what we could afford to put in our bedroom at the new place. Even though his parents inherited so much money, they had so many darn kids that Quincy doesn’t have access to his entire inheritance right now. I hope they’re not keeping it just in case they have more kids. I don’t want my kids to be older than their aunt or uncle.

This headache has officially won, so I’ll stop here.

I look forward to hearing from  you soon,

21 thoughts on “Pen Pal Letter D4: So My Brain Isn’t Working, But That’s Okay

  1. Loved this letter! It’s so great getting a look inside Daniella’s head! I think my favorite part was when she complained about pregnancy brain, then said “it’s ok, people just rub my stomach and forget what I was saying” 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know if I’ve ever officially said it before, but I love Daniella! I love getting her view on everything. All of her observations are very telling; she reminds me of myself, in a way. Sienna will find this most interesting, I’m sure. A baby, a house, a house that’s being built, awaiting a proposal, and I love love love the fact that she’s indirectly affected by all the drama of the other families. Well, maybe indirectly isn’t the right word. It’s more like she’s close enough to know everything that’s going on but nobody notices her… how unfortunate. She’s the type to take over the world while nobody’s watching. Ah, I’m rambling. Can you tell I liked the letter? Lol

    And yes! Please do put up a poll. I would love to hear from so many of your characters. Elizabeth, Laurel, Carmen… any of the Blanks. I’ll have my top two by the time the poll comes around!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think there’s a chance you may love Daniella as much as I love Sienna!

      Yeah, she has so much going on, and she really is just a peripheral character in everyone else’s life. I’m so happy she’s got a pen pal so she gets a chance to shine.

      I’m going to put up the poll tomorrow!

      Like

  3. This was such an incredible letter! I love how smart Daniella is, and everyone dismisses her. Grrrrr! Experience of smart women in the US. And your geography fits with mine almost exactly, except for me, Forgotten Hollow is southeast of Windenburg, in the foothills of the Windenburg Alps.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s​ so cool that our geography lines up. I can’t believe you have Forgotten Hollow that close to the city, no wonder the vamp townies show up there, lol.

      Yes, Daniella experiences what so many smart women do. I’ve got my fingers crossed that her life with Quincy goes better than what she’s used to from her father and brother and better than what he’s seen with his parents.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LMAO! We haven’t really seen a lot of Quincy to get a real feel for who he is and what he’s about. We will see him whenever he proposes though, and hopefully that makes a big impact on you and makes Daniella feel like it was worth the wait.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, you’re so right! He seems no closer to proposing. I’ve even left that option open to them in my MCCC settings, but nope, no autonomous proposals either.

      Quincy and I are planning something great for the proposal in Round 9. Shhhhh, don’t tell Daniella!

      Also, I’m thinking of adding another character in to get a pen pal. Any suggestions for who it should be?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooh, both good ideas. I never would’ve thought of Heaven. Okay, I’m going to make a list of all the characters who’ve had dialog in my story. Then I’ll make a poll. If anyone actually votes, haha I’ll pick the top one or two and get them pen pals.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, I’d love if Elizabeth were a pen pal! Ira could write to her! I love all your Sims … what about Baby Cupid? (He needs to talk to Quincy, by the way!) And my favorite couple. And Laurel would be so funny! I think I adore them all!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

