Can You Feel The Love Tonight [Round 8, Chapter 53, Ralston]

After Kenya’s successful defeat of the garbage shoot while Dazed, Gavin figured she would be in a good mood.

“Hey, can I talk to you? I want to share with you something Akira asked me,” said Gavin.

Gavin was wrong to assume his grandmother would be in a good mood.

“Do we have to discuss this now? I’m still Dazed from the bubble blower, and I can still smell that stupid garbage that wouldn’t go down the hole!”

“This is important,” said Gavin.

“This is something Akira asked you?”

“Yes.”

Kenya stared at Gavin for a moment, doing her best to think clear thoughts.

Then she sighed. “Alright, tell me what’s on your mind Gavin.”

Gavin explained about Akira’s promotion and move to a bigger, better apartment. Kenya was proud of Akira too, so the news brought a smile to her face.

Gavin then told her about Akira’s offer to have the Ralstons move in with him. He saw them as family and wanted to share his success with them, giving them all a chance to see their version of the classic immigrant’s dream come true.

Kenya’s smile got even wider as she realized what Gavin was saying.

Kenya: Oh my! We could live in an apartment in a high rise in Uptown?? This sounds too good to me true. Akira is like a grandson to me, or rather a grandson-in-law. Wait… a piece of this story is missing.

“Gavin, I’m not sure how to say this, but–,” Kenya paused as she considered the best way to pose her question without upsetting Gavin.

Kenya: Great time to use the bubble blower Kenya! Okay, think, think, what’s the least offensive way to ask this question.

“Where would you sleep if we moved in with Akira?”

“He has four bedrooms,” said Gavin, feeling a bit uncomfortable at her question.

“You know that’s not what I’m asking,” said Kenya.

Gavin sighed and thought a bit before answering. “I guess I’d sleep in my own bedroom. I have no reason to think I’d sleep anywhere else.”

“No reason? Does that mean you’ve never talked to Akira about how you feel?”

“I haven’t talked to anybody about it! Maybe there’s nothing to talk about,” said Gavin.

“Oh Gavin,” said Kenya, noticing Gavin literally looking and leaning away from her.

“Gavin, look at me,” said Kenya.

Gavin slowly turned his head in her direction.

“I may be way off base here,” said Kenya, “but I don’t think I am. You see how in love me and your grandfather still are, after all these years. I want nothing more for you than to have a shot at the same. You’ve been swimming in all directions since we moved here, and I want you to start moving in the one direction that feels right.”

“Maybe you don’t feel comfortable talking to me about it, and that’s okay. But you should talk to Akira. And I’m sorry honey, but we’re not going to agree to move in with him until you do. I don’t think I could bear to see you in that situation, always thinking, never acting, never embracing something that could be the best thing that’s ever happened to you.”

Just then Cristian came in from work. He kissed his wife and squeezed his grandson’s shoulder. “Why do you both look so serious?”

“A little of this and a little of that,” said Kenya. “I noticed you painted. It looks wonderful.”

“Thanks, I think it brightens up the place a bit,” said Cristian. “Makes it feel a bit like home.

“Speaking of home,” said Kenya, “I want to talk to you for a moment. Gavin can you excuse us?”

Before he could respond, Gavin’s phone rang. It was Akira saying he was on his way over. He had a key and had no problem using it, but wanted to give Gavin a warning in case there were any last conversations he needed to have really quickly. Gavin told him there was one conversation he needed to have, but it would have to wait until Akira arrived.

Gavin excused himself and headed to his bedroom to wait for Akira. After half a minute, he decided to go for a run instead to calm his nerves. He finished his quick run just as Akira arrived to their building. They walked into the apartment and straight to Gavin’s bedroom, eager to avoid the cuddling grandparents on the chaise, especially now that Cristian had changed into something more comfortable.

“Tell me more about how wonderful this particular shade of blue is,” murmured Cristian.

“Oh it’s so wonderful, so blue, so perfect,” whispered Kenya, enjoying their closeness.

Cristian had finally realized the key to keeping Kenya’s innate jealousy in check: showering her with attention the second he walked in the door, and dealing with everything else after that.

“We actually need to talk about something else though,” said Kenya.

She relayed her conversation with Gavin in its entirety.

“I knew it! I tried to talk to him about it, well I sort of tried, but he shut me down too,” said Cristian.

“I think he’s talking to Akira now, about everything,” said Kenya.

“So that’s why Akira didn’t stop and chat like he usually does,” said Cristian.

“Yes, and with any luck, they’ll settle things and Gavin can stop looking so pensive all the time,” said Kenya.

“I hope luck is on our side,” said Cristian. “I can’t believe you said we weren’t moving unless they sort this out! That apartment must be amazing!”

“Cris! The boy needed a push, what was I going to do? Plus, you just painted, would it be so bad to stay?”

“Woman! He. Lives. In. Uptown!”

“Oh calm down,” said Kenya. “They’re talking right now. I’m sure it will all work out.”

“You better be right,” said Cristian.

“Aren’t I always?”

“Mmm, I’m not answering that. Let’s just make out on the couch and hope their conversation lasts long enough to not interrupt us.”

“That’s a plan I can get behind,” said Kenya.

In Gavin’s bedroom, Akira stood smiling at him, expecting to hear good news.

“Hear me out before you interrupt me,” said Gavin. “I don’t have answer for you yet. I haven’t talked to my grandfather, but I have talked to my grandmother. She said no to moving. But it was a temporary no. She said that to force my hand, so I’d talk to you.”

Akira let out the breath he was holding. “Okay, I can work with that. What are we going to talk about?”

Gavin grabbed Akira’s hand.

Akira smiled.

To Be Continued…

17 thoughts on “Can You Feel The Love Tonight [Round 8, Chapter 53, Ralston]

  1. Oh my I love Kenya. Giving that boy the push he needed to sort out his feelings and talk things out with Akira. Cristian with his mind on that uptown apartment. Ooh i’m loving this story. The characters are fantastic i my have favourites already. (pretty much everyone. They all bring something to the party.)Gonna have to go back and catch up on the drama i missed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you love Gavin’s family. I adore them too, and always enjoy writing them.

      Kenya is the grandmother I wish I had, lol. Too bad all her kids and only grandson are all boys, I bet she’d be great with girls too.

      Like

  2. Oh dear… Something tells me there won’t be much “talking” going on here… πŸ˜‰

    Loved Gavin and Kenya’s heart-to-heart! ❀ It was so well written.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thanks! The way I view Kenya, she’s not going to beat around the bush, but she’s also not going to force her grandson out of the closet.

      I had fun with this chapter, and I’m so glad that it reads well. There’s so many ways such a discussion could go wrong.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. As a person who feels very very strongly about explicit consent, I do NOT condone how Gavin is going about things. Use your words, Gavin! But alas, he and my Simself are very different people…

      Like

  3. β€œWhere would you sleep if we moved in with Akira?”
    That’s the exact kind of round about yet direct question I would ask lol. Maybe I should go back and read all of their previous chapters to get the skinny on this relationship.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Lol, there’s not much there, mostly innuendo. But if I had to suggest some, I’d say read chapters 26 & 29.

      Not sure if your reading on the blog page, but I have a chapter list that you can just scroll through to get those two chapters.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

