It’s Nice To Meet You [Round 8, Chapter 44, Blank]

“You know what else? Your wife is very spoiled,” said Kian. “Did she ever wash a dish when you all were together? She’s lucky she’s got that great sense of humor and gives the best high fives.”

“I would not say that she is spoiled. She is just used to a certain division of the housework,” said Bo. “But I really feel bad for her for having to deal with a pregnancy. You might want to tell your other roommate that even though Heaven is a mother, she will not be great for sharing mothering tips. She will swear she does not have the mothering gene.”

“Wait, you think–oh, no. I’m sorry Bo,” said Kian, “it’s nice to meet you, but I have to go. I’m late for a meeting, and I really shouldn’t say anything more than I already have.”

Bo walked back to his house, confused by his last exchange with Kian. He walked around to the front, just in case Summer was walking past. He felt like he could really use a friend in that moment. He did not see Summer, but he did see his daughter Gem.

“Are you okay, daughter? I know it has been a tough time as of late,” said Bo.

“You are right, father,” said Gem, “it has not been easy, but I’m okay, I promise.”

“How are you feeling father?”

“it’s hard to put into words. I feel like this is all my fault,” said Bo.

“It is all your fault. Everything with mother happened because you changed the mission,” said Gem.

“Whoa! I do not need to be attacked again,” said Bo.

“I don’t mean to attack you father,” said Gem, “I’m just speaking matter-of-factly about what happened, but I really do want to know how you are doing. If you are having a hard time with your words, I can Empathize. Just share it with me telepathically.”

Bo looked around to check for nearby Sims. Sharing their Sim heritage with a friend was one thing, but showing their abilities to strangers was something he’d promised himself he’d stop doing. Feeling pretty sure they were alone, he conveyed his feelings to his daughter.

“Oh father, I get it now,” said Gem. “But if you want to fix it, you need to start by giving her time. Mother was very resolved in her decision.”

“But if I can convince her, I can fix everything,” said Bo.

“Our family may reunite one day, but it has to be on her terms,” said Gem. “So much has happened without her input, she has to feel like she has some control over her own life.”

“When did you get so smart?”

“I’m pretty sure I aged up into a Genius,” said Gem with a wink. “Lucky you.”

“Yes, lucky me,”  said Bo.

“I’m going in to grab a bite to eat, then I’m going to meet the new next door neighbors. It’s about time someone moved into that house, don’t you think?”

After a quick bite to eat, Gem headed next door. The new neighbors were already standing outside. From what she could tell, it was a family of four: a mother, father, teen son, and child daughter. She walked up to the boy to say hello.

“Hi! My name is Gem, and I live next door. What’s your name?”

“Hello Gem, my name is Joseph. My family and I have just moved in to this lovely modern home. It is nice to meet you.”

Gem smiled to herself at his assessment of his home. “It is a lovely modern home. It looks even more modern next to our craftsman. I’ve always wanted to see inside.”

“Say no more, please join me on a brief tour of my new home. The tour will be brief only because the house takes up very little space,” said Joseph.

Gem walked with him into the home the rest of his family had already entered.

Gem liked the house. It was small like hers, just two bedrooms. His little sister, Mary, shared a bedroom just like she and Asa did. Their house had more decorations than hers did, but then again, they didn’t have a pool. Not having visited many Sim homes, Gem took note of the different ways they chose to spend their money on their home accommodations.

Joseph went outside, but Gem stayed inside to meet his parents. She waved to them, but they seemed to be engaged in a bit of a silent conversation with just their eyes, so they paid her little attention.

Gem: My parents never did this. Either my parents weren’t as great at reading each other with just body language or they weren’t that close to begin with.

After quick introductions, Gem excused herself to go to the backyard with Joseph.

“Finally you made it out here, I thought you were going to hang out with my parents all day,” said Joseph.

“It was only ten minutes,” said Gem.

“It felt like much longer than that,” said Joseph, “but since you are here now, let me give you the grand tour of the back yard. Here is the water slide, there are the monkey bars. And the green grass grows all around.”

Gem chuckled, not taking her eyes off him in spite of him pointing in multiple directions where she should look.

“Your backyard is great. I really like what I see,” said Gem.

He stared at her for a moment before breaking into a smile. “Well, if you like it, we should use it! Based on the pool in your backyard, I assume you have no problem being in your swimsuit out here. Put it on so we can test out this water slide.”

Gem happily agreed and changed into her suit. Joseph changed as well.

“What do you think?”

With only a short hesitation to find the right words, Gem said, “I think you wear a lot of blue.”

He chuckled and ran to the start of the water slide. Gem turned to watch his parents. They were on the back porch now, just standing there, facing away from her and Joseph, not talking.

Gem: More silent conversations with each other. That couple is really in tune.

 

Gem and Joseph took a few slides each and got to know each other. She found out he was just a bit behind her in school, that he loved being a big brother, and he loved the color blue. Joseph found out that she wasn’t handling her mother leaving as well as she tried to make it seem, her brother was her best friend, and she could use more friends.

“I’m really glad I met you today,” said Joseph.

“Me too,” said Gem.

To Be Continued…

8 thoughts on “It’s Nice To Meet You [Round 8, Chapter 44, Blank]

  1. Oooh! Gem maybe got a someone to love! And I really think Kian should have said that it was Bo’s wife that was pregnant, maybe it could have helped they talk things over? I dunno, also, don’t know if I mentioned that before, but, is rather interesting how they speak to each other in a very formal way (the family) kind of gives that logic-way alien vibe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BAhahahaha! More aliens?
    “Based on the pool in your backyard, I assume you have no problem being in your swimsuit out here. Put it on so we can test out this water slide.”
    LOL, I’m gonna like this kid.
    And boooooo to what’s-his-face bailing on the conversation at the last minute…although it really wasn’t his place to tell.

    Like

  3. Hmmm…Aliens next door maybe sent to check on things…and Gem has a boyfriend! I thought it was so funny that when Kian figured out Bo didn’t know it was Heaven that was pregnant he didn’t explain further and left. Haha…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

