This Is Your Punishment [Round 8, Chapter 42, Blank]

Heaven felt Bo’s hand on her cheek and she felt her resolve soften. They were not on Sixam anymore after all, should she still follow Sixam customs in this way?

Bo pulled Heaven in for a kiss and whispered in her ear in their native language. Heaven felt so many things and she did not put much thought into her response.

 

 

 

Heaven: Talk about sending a mixed signal.

Bo: There is no way she will leave us now.

Heaven stood up and walked around to the side of the bed where Bo sat.

“Listen, I–”

“Now that we have exhibited our love for and commitment to each other, what else is there to discuss Wife? Please tell me all is forgiven,” said Bo.

“I cannot tell you that,” said Heaven.

“Words are failing me right now, so perhaps this will help.”

Bo sat there, feeling all of Heaven’s mixed emotions and thoughts pour into him.

“You are really leaving,” said Bo. It was not a question.

“Yes, I am,” said Heaven. “I will wait until the offspring have returned from school, then I will sit them down and share the news. After that, I am leaving.”

“This is for the best, you will see,” said Heaven. “Think of how much better the mission, in its current version, will go if there is no one around disapproving of it at every turn.”

Heaven patted Bo on the shoulder as she stood to get redressed and wait for Asa and Gem to get home. She sat on the couch feeling the minutes tick past.

Heaven: What have I done? I feel as if I have made everything more complicated.

That afternoon, Asa was the first to walk through the door, and Heaven immediately called him to join her on the couch.

“What’s up mother? You never seek out conversation unless it’s during meal time, so I find myself worried,” said Asa.

“I have some news to share with you,” said Heaven, “I am leaving.”

Asa: She never is one for a preamble, but she always manages the vaguest declarative sentences I’ve ever heard.

“What do you mean you’re leaving? Are you leaving for vacation? For another home? For Sixam? Is this permanent or temporary? That sentence isn’t nearly descriptive enough,” said Asa, showing his obvious frustration.

Heaven explained what she meant, then paused to see how Asa would take the news.

“Why are you still following Sixamian rules when we no longer live there?! This isn’t fair,” screamed Asa. “You’re ruining my life!”

“I see you are doing your best to be a Teen Sim,” said Heaven, “but I will not tolerate being yelled at. I am still your mother and even if you do not embrace my decision, you will honor it. You may never understand why I am following Sixamian culture here, and if you follow the mission and marry a Sim, you shall never know. I have made my peace with that.”

“How can I honor this? You are breaking our family apart,” said Asa.

“You must understand,” said Heaven,”I am doing what I must! I cannot stay here when my trust has been broken. You are not going to change my mind, and that is final!”

“Heeeeeey… what’s going on guys? I heard you screaming,” said Gem, “but I didn’t want to interrupt. But now I feel I should hear what’s going on.”

Heaven stood to speak with Gem. “I just shared something important with your brother, and I need to tell you too. Can you join us on the couch?”

After Heaven explained, for the third time, what was going to happen that day, Gem found herself fighting a rising panic.

“Let me get this straight,” said Gem. “Father has been revealing himself as an alien all over town, even though the three of us have been doing everything in our power to do the exact opposite?”

“Yes, that is correct,” said Heaven.

“He got Mission Control to approve a change in the mission, so now we can reveals that we are aliens to Sims we trust?”

“Yes, still correct,” said Heaven.

“I’m not doing that! It’s bad enough so many people know he’s an alien. They won’t know I’m one too,” said Asa.

“Shhh! You had your chance to talk, I need to finish this,” said Gem.

Gem turned away from Asa’s outburst to continue recapping what happened to her mother.

“Because of this change to the mission, all without your input, you have decided to follow Sixamian customs,” said Gem. “You’re ending your relationship with the one who betrayed your trust?”

“Yes,” said Heaven, waiting for another inevitable angry outburst.

“I think I have a headache,” said Gem, “I understand what has happened, but I am feeling the heartache in my head for some reason.”

“I think we’ll be okay without her, won’t we Asa? It’s not like she’s going all the way back to Sixam,” said Gem to her brother.

Heaven’s relief was palpable. She did not want to be yelled at by both her offspring.

Gem turned back to her mother. “Where will you live?”

“Ugh, now I have a heart headache,” said Asa.

Heaven explained the rest of the details. She was not going to officially divorce Bo. That was a complicated Sim custom she had no interest in pursuing. She was going to stay in Newcrest, just over in the business area with her new roommates. Even though she felt she’d never been much of a mother, she promised she would still be around if either of them needed her.

All three of them felt the conversation had run its course. They sat there, each considering what this change meant.

Asa: I think this makes me the child of a broken home. I wonder if it’s appropriate Sim behavior to ask my friends for advice.

Gem: This is going to be very hard on us. Father will have to get a job. Asa and I will have to work really hard at our jobs to try and get promotions as well. 

Heaven: This is for the best, I have to believe that.

To Be Continued…

 

29 thoughts on “This Is Your Punishment [Round 8, Chapter 42, Blank]

  1. Tis the season for breakup sex…

    I feel really bad for the family. Heaven should have given Bo a chance 😦 This is so sad! But in an odd way, maybe it’s for the best for the family — if she is going to choose to abandon her kids and marriage rather than fight for them, maybe she’s not worth having around as a mother/wife anyway? Sorry if that sounds mean or harsh on Heaven haha. I just don’t get the vibe that she intends to be very present in her children’s lives. It’s like she’s a deadbeat mom abandoning her children with Bo and, Sixamian custom or not, it doesn’t feel right 😦

    Love this plot. The Blanks are still my fave family, even if they are a very broken one now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Be harsh on Heaven if you must. 😔

      Just kidding, she low-key kinda deserves it. 🤔

      She’s not being the best mom she could be right now, and she already set the bar pretty low.

      I love that they’re you’re favorites. Hopefully they don’t “alien”ate you. See what I did there? 😜

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, if this is for the best, then I have nothing to say, I mean, if she was unhappy at her marriage, and that hole”betrayed” thing helped to kind of tip her over the edge, than it’s good for her to go away…is going to be interesting to see how the dinâmicas will change from here on..and not such good, Gem, you will have to tell your friends about yourself someday…I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OH! And, I totally enjoyed this line: “She never is one for a preamble, but she always manages the vaguest declarative sentences I’ve ever heard.” That was dope lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tee hee, these darn aliens lol. I remember waaaaaaaaay back in the day when I first read this story, I said that I enjoyed the way they spoke, especially when Bo and Heaven refer to each other as “wife” and “husband” lol. It tickles me so much. I suppose if Heaven feels the need to leave, and it’s in line with their native beliefs, I will have to be ok with that.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. If you decide to be okay with it, then you, Heaven, and one more person I won’t name yet will be the only ones who are.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the way they speak to each other it’s fun to write, though I do have to do more editing on their chapters than the others.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They really are. You know how Sims thing to maintain their personalities even if they’re played in different saves? I wonder if I put them on the gallery and someone else played with them, if they’d still be the same family.

        Would Bo still autonomously take care of the entire house? Would Gem still struggle to make friends? Would Asa be the cool kid everywhere he went? And would Heaven still never ever smile?

        Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL me and the characters themselves?! That’s hilarious! I mean…I figured her mind is made up…I should probably get with the program although I don’t really like it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Lol, true. Nothing anyone in her family said came close to changing her mind, so getting on board is probably the best option. If she’d been a different kind of Sim, I would’ve wanted her to have a very different reaction to Bo’s deception.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. The only time I’ve ever seen her smile has been when Bo was putting the moves on her or she was playing her guitar.

        If other things brought her joy, I would have had her settled the dispute differently.

        For instance if she had a better relationship with her children I might have set it up where they actually asked the kids to pick which parent they were going to live with. Or maybe she just would have put him out since she was the breadwinner anyway.

        Or if she were a happier Sim in general, maybe I would have had them both go to Mission Control for something like couples counseling because she would be hesitant to leave a life that made her so happy.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hmmmm. Is Heaven still going to provide for her family? It is obvious she still loves Bo in her own way, and that she cares about her children, and while I don’t agree with her decision, I understand that she feels betrayed. I just dont know why she would be okay with leaving the kids, but I have to keep in mind that they are aliens. Maybe they dont view their kids the same way?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heaven truly never felt like much of a mother. She doesn’t have the Hates Children trait, but she never autonomously sought out interactions with her kids, so that’s how I write her.

      And the customs on Sixam are different. Leaving your family is reasonable there if there’s no place for you. And with Bo hiding things and changing the mission, she felt left out of her marriage. Added to feeling left out of the parenthood, she felt she only had one choice.

      I have MCCC, so she’ll send child support, but Bo is going to have to get a job.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. I love this so much ! It’s my new favorite chapter ! I love the heart headache! I get those sometimes!

    I really love your women characters. They’re each nonstereotypical and unusual and individual and strong !

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Heaven is confusing to me. I think she is not entirely sure she is doing the right thing, but simply holding on to Sixam customs. Instead of staying and working things out – he wronged her and now she has to leave. Black and white. Just like that. But I don’t think her heart is in it. I wonder if they will reconcile later when they find they miss each other.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Now that you mention it – maybe. But she hopped into bed with Bo. So I think it’s the fact that she isn’t comfortable away from Sixam that is maybe making her unhappy and she doesn’t realize it. Hmmm.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

