Round 7, Chapter 34A [Ralston]: So It Wasn’t Just A Dream?!

[Author’s note: This chapter ended up way longer than I intended, so I decided to split it up. I’m still going to tell the whole story this week to stay on track with my other scheduled chapters. Speaking of scheduled chapters, I’m planning on posting new chapters every Monday, though I may post additional chapters if the story becomes longer than my new intended word range (750-1100 words) or if I have a penpal letter to post!]

Laurel kept a serious face after she asked who believed in vampires.

Laurel: I hope they don’t think I’m crazy. Even if they don’t believe me now, maybe they will after hearing my story.

Carmen: Oh darn it, Laurel’s lost her marbles. I support my friend no matter what, but I cannot have crazy people around my baby.

Bo: There was no mention of vampires in my Sim manual. It did say there was a possibility of supernatural creatures, but they didn’t mention this during my status update abduction. Could it be that vampires are real on this planet?

Gavin: This reminds me of a crazy dream I had, but that was just a dream, right?

“I’m not saying I believe in vampires,” said Gavin,” but I’ll hear you out because if nothing else, this is sure to be a crazy story.”

“Crazy indeed,” said Carmen with a forced smile.

“Perhaps not so crazy,” said Bo.

Gavin did NOT sign up for hunting supernatural creatures. And here he thought Carmen’s unexpected pregnancy would be the biggest shocker he’d hear that day. Well… Laurel didn’t actually say they were going to hunt vampires, but if her story is anything like his dream, that had to be where she was headed with this.

Laurel had begun talking about a weird night at her home earlier that week. After speaking with her butler and her daughter Brooklyn, she was able to piece together what happened.

Most of the family had gone to bed for the night. The only one awake was the butler, standing at his usual post in the living room, which is open to the front door. A woman literally creeped into the house, but the butler’s instructions are to let all guests in, so he didn’t think much of it. The butler assumed it was a friend of the family.

Brooklyn woke up in the middle of the night with a craving for cake. As she walked through the second floor hallway to head down to the kitchen, she noticed the woman creeping up to the third floor. She found it unusual because visitors rarely visited the master suite, but half asleep and cake-hungry, she didn’t think much of it.

Laurel was awoken from her slumber by a pull she couldn’t properly describe. Her eyes opened.

Laurel got out of bed. She noticed the woman in her room, but at the moment, didn’t find anything unusual about it. She walked over to the woman without meaning too. She tilted her head to the side, for the first time noticing her reflection in the mirror, but not seeing a reflection of the woman now getting closer and closer to her.

The woman laced her fingers through Laurel’s hair. Laurel like the feeling, it felt right, just like it was supposed to. The woman lowered her mouth to Laurel’s neck, and there was a feeling as if they were about to begin a dance. They swayed together as teeth sunk into her neck.

Laurel felt exquisite pain, an existential nightmarish ecstasy. She simply smiled through it, allowing it happen, feeling in her mind this is exactly what she wanted. The woman drank her fill and exited the way she came. Laurel swayed on the spot with a goofy grin on her face. Then the spell was broken and she crumpled to the floor, fast asleep, barely clinging to life after the long drink.

Everyone around the table felt as if they were hearing a great campfire story, but Laurel was dead serious. She had done some research after she came to. And after figuring out the whole story, she’d done even more research on the computer, finally purchasing a vampire tome. She was convinced that vampires were real, and she knew the best way to ward them off.

Carmen was incredulous, and Bo wasn’t sure how to comment on the existence of another unexpected life form.

“Aliens I can understand,” said Carmen, “Everyone knows they exist, always abducting people and sending a third of them back pregnant, no offense Bo, but I’m gonna say ‘nah’ to these vampires. And they’re just walking in folks’ houses drinking their plasma?! Nope… nope…”

“This seems most unusual,” said Bo. “I have seen no evidence of vampires, but Laurel seems most insistent, so I think I should consider it carefully before coming to a conclusion.”

“Well I believe her,” said Gavin, surprising the others in the club gathering room. “And this is not just some Caribbean superstitious mumbo jumbo. The weirdest thing happened to me the first week we were in our new apartment. I was asleep in my bed, and a man walked into my room. I felt him in my sleep. I felt that same pull Laurel describes, but just as I was about to open my eyes to get out of bed, the pull I was feeling went away, and he left. It freaked me out at the time. But I guess I thought, or rather I hoped, I’d imagined it.”

Laurel looked at Gavin gratefully, happy that she had someone on her side. Now, all she had to do was convince the rest.

20 thoughts on “Round 7, Chapter 34A [Ralston]: So It Wasn’t Just A Dream?!

  1. This gave me horrific flashbacks of the time a vampire arrived at Hope and Zayne’s apartment 😂 I had to use cheats to make him leave! No drinking from my peeps! (Their blood will probably turn you into a horrible emotional mess anyway LMAO)

    I loved the way you described the hypnotic pull of the vampire. It was creepy and compelling!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And thanks for confirming that cheats will stop it like how you can stop an abduction. I wasn’t sure.

      Watching it happen, I kept pausing it to take screenshots. Watching her face, seeing how those green vampire vibes pulled her in, well that part practically wrote itself.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just imagine: Stay-at-home-mom in the day, vampire hunter in the night…Laurel! At least she has someone to say that she isn’t crazy, but if they will believe in both or neither, it’s something we shall see!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG! Laurel does not want to be a vampire hunter, and fact if she sees another vampire ever again, it’ll be too soon. But she wants to keep her family and the families of her friends safe. If they hear her out, she has a plan which should hopefully keep all of their households safe forever.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I know for a game-driven story, this kind of drama can be appreciated but just in case you’re in any other save where you don’t want this to happen, using MCCC, clicking on the sim and then clicking on cheats and then Make Sim Leave should stop the break-in. You won’t be able to go into build mode for a sim-hour or so but I haven’t had that be such a big deal- considering they’re sleeping and all.
    Onto the chapter: It happened to Gavin too? Wow those vampires just won’t stop!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know if you read my other comments, but it happened to Gavin so many Sim days ago. And that vampire didn’t go all the way through with drinking his plasma. I think it’s just something that happens when the master vampires are very thirsty. It just so happens that sometimes they pick the home of one of my Sims I’m actively playing. But I’m not entirely sure.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I imagine you can hit the cheat code to reset your sim to cancel it out like you would for an alien abduction, but I haven’t tried that yet because I was so interested in having the vampire attack play out. I think it only happens when a master vampire has a thirst that gets really bad. They have to have the skills to be able to enter a locked home, and there’s no reason for them to do it unless they’re very very thirsty. I’m playing another save with a vampire in it, so I’m going to watch and see how this could work when I’m in control of the vampire.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So Gavin had one visit him too. I guess Laurel is going to try and figure out how to ward them off. I don’t have vampires yet. Simply because I haven’t been playing TS4. So I don’t know how it all works. But this is a crazy twist for sure.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The way they explained it doesn’t seem to encompass all of how the vampires work. It’s been fun figuring it out though. That one that visited Gavin happened within the first day he was in my save. I didn’t understand what was happening since the vampire just came in and left, but I decided to hold onto the screenshots in case they were useful later. I’m so glad I did!

      Like

Leave a Reply

