Round 6, Chapter 28 [Holloway]: The Inside Man

02-19-17_2-04-40-am

“Carmen, you are quite a character,” said Laurel. “I knew it was a great idea to include you in this club. I know you’ll need to cook for the Upper Crusts, but if you wanted to whip something up for us as well, that would be great!”

“Thanks! I just might do that. Any dietary restrictions?” asked Carmen.

“As long as it’s homemade, I’m not picky,” said Luca.

“As long as it’s edible, I’m not picky,” said Bo.

“Well, we were thinking about doing a better job of being kosher, but I’ll keep you posted,” said Laurel.

“You know I’m vegetarian, so hopefully you can work well with tofu as a meat substitute,” said Gavin.

“Tofu!” exclaimed everyone else, each regretting not being more specific about their food preferences, but not wanting to be rude.

“I’ll have to see what I can do about the tofu, sweetie, remember I said I just started cooking food that doesn’t make me cringe with every bite,” said Carmen.

“Right, well we’ll circle back to whether we should eat anything Carmen makes with tofu,” said Laurel, “Who else has a story?”

“I’ve got one. You all might love to hear about the last time I took Daniella (my sister for those of you who haven’t met her) on a brother-sister date,” said Luca. “It’s just me and her, our whole family is back home, and we don’t get to see them much. As a thank you to Daniella for putting up with me, I took her shopping.”

Laurel: For putting up with you? What does that mean? Oh goodness, what type of family is my son thinking of marrying into?

Carmen: For putting up with you? What does that mean? Maybe she’s frustrated from constantly asking him to put on a shirt, though I’m glad he didn’t listen…

Bo: For putting up with you? What does that mean? If only I could scan his mind to better understand these Simian colloquialisms.

Gavin: For putting up with you? What does that mean? Where I come from that means you’re an asshole.

Luca spoke about arriving at the new department store in Magnolia Promenade.

02-20-17_3-43-53-pm

Daniella had gone shopping in an attempt to meet some Teens her age, and it hadn’t gone well. Luca didn’t know or particularly care what happened, especially since right after that she joined Quincy Epstein’s little teen club and ended up wearing his promise ring. He figured without worrying so much about meeting Sims her own age, she could actually enjoy shopping. Chicks were all supposed to dig that, right?

Daniella had always been such a girly girl, so he wasn’t surprised when the first store they ended up at was one full of dresses for her to try on. For a brief moment, Luca thought he’d been tricked into shopping for wedding dresses, but the store had all types of dresses, so that wasn’t the case.

02-20-17_3-45-07-pm

“No offense, Laurel, but it still freaks me out that my baby sister thinks she’s found the guy she wants to spend her whole life with,” said Luca.

“None taken,” said Laurel. “It’s freaking me out too.”

Danielle didn’t find any clothes she wanted to buy, so they wandered around the rest of the shopping center. There was a lot of artwork lying around that hadn’t been put out for sale yet. Luca was getting pretty good at appraising artwork for it’s value, but not so much for its artistic content, so after about 30 minutes of failing at discussing the brush strokes with his sister, they decided to grab lunch.

02-20-17_3-52-55-pm

They headed to the burger joint they liked in Oasis Springs. Obviously, they weren’t the type of people to go to a place with No Shirts – No Shoes – No Service policies.

02-20-17_4-03-37-pm

Luca ordered the burger, Daniella ordered the BLT, and they both had some much needed coffee. Luca told Daniella how happy he was that they were finally spending some real time together as she’d been MIA recently. He asked if she wanted to talk to him about it, and waited to see if she would open up.

02-20-17_4-07-34-pm

Daniella finally explained to Luca why things had moved so fast with Quincy. When they were hanging out in the club Quincy created, they just kept being drawn to each other. Luca did his best to keep a neutral smile and was glad when the food arrived so he’d have a distraction for his attention.

02-20-17_4-09-56-pm

Daniella asked Luca if he’d ever met someone and they had that effect on each other instantly. Luca had to admit that he had not. Up to this point, everyone he’d dated were throwing themselves at him and the people he liked were usually in a relationship, so he’d never had that mutual attraction and availability all at once.

02-20-17_4-11-05-pm

Under questioning, it became clear Daniella didn’t even know that much about Quincy. She didn’t know what he wanted to do for a career after they aged up, and that was just the tip of the iceberg. All that mattered to her was the way he made her feel.

Luca loved his sister dearly, and so he did his best to understand. He must’ve shown a bit too much understanding because she started talking about that time they snuck off to the Bluffs, all the time they spent at the nightclub the Narwhal Arms, and that time they played hooky from school. She even told Luca how she thought was turned out to be food poisoning was a pregnancy scare. She said she and Quincy only ever Messed Around, or whatever the kids were calling it these days.

Luca sought reassurance from his club that he’d done the right thing by giving Daniella a chance to open up about her relationship. He explained that he was on her about her studies and she finally brought her C grade up to a B, and she promised to maintain it until graduation.

02-20-17_4-31-49-pm

“You and your sibling have a strong relationship. Should I relay to my offspring Gem and Asa that they should make notes of their romantic conquests to share with each other after they age up?” asked Bo.

“Geez man, when you put it like that, it sounds even worse. I was just trying to get closer to my sister,” said Luca.

“Well, sweetie, here’s how I see it,” said Carmen. “Teenagers will be who they are. Just be happy your sister found someone she loves who loves her back. And she trusts you to be honest with you. And the icing on the cake is that she listened to you when you asked her to not mess up her future by throwing caution to the wind today. You gotta be proud of that since y’all parents are so far away.”

“I dunno man,” said Gavin. “My parents, grandparents, cousins, whoever would’ve killed me for confessing even half of that. But… it’s not like I wasn’t trying the same thing when I was Quincy’s age, minus handing out a promise ring of course. This is your son she was doing all this with, Laurel? Did you know about any of this?”

“No, I did not. But… you see… I’m going to focus on how great it is that Luca and Daniella are so close rather than trying to figure out what day my son played hooky from school,” said Laurel. “And whether or not he knew Daniella thought she might be pregnant. And whether it’s occurred to him to have a serious discussion about his future with the girl he says he wants to marry. Oh, creator! Someone help me with a silver lining that isn’t about the Holloways!”

“Think of it this way,” said Luca. “Now you have a spy. Or if you don’t like that word, an inside man. You’ll never lose touch with your firstborn as long as Daniella and I stay close.”

“He’s right, honey,” said Carmen soothingly. “Just don’t freak out and think of it as a blessing that you now have confirmation that she’s just as taken with him as he is with her.”

“I suppose you’re right,” said Laurel. “Pregnancy scare though?”

“Just a scare, not the real thing,” said Luca.

Laurel shook her head fiercely as if to clear it of the memory of the last few minutes. She knew she’d have to talk to Kurt before deciding how to handle the information she’d been given. “Okay! Who’s next? Bo? Gavin?”

12 thoughts on “Round 6, Chapter 28 [Holloway]: The Inside Man

  1. Most of the thing I want to comment had already been covered, so I just wanted to say that tofu is delicious, and I’m not a vegetarian. Haha. I love this young love even though I usually doubt if it would work. But if it worked, well I won’t complain.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw, I loved reading about this (though it’s making me laugh that Daniella opened up THAT much… Hehehehe). I like how different all the members of the club are and the unique perspectives they’re all offering!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Luca you little… XD He knew exactly what he was doing, I know it! (I think I know it, anyway =p) Poor Laurel having to listen to all that! I loved Bo’s bit about making notes for his children, and Carmen about his shirtlessness, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! You get that he did it on purpose. This is one of our first signs of purposely mean Luca. I think he’s just testing it out to see what’s the result of throwing a banana peel in his rearview, like he’s playing Mario Kart, lol.

      After all his weird comments, I still can’t believe the other men haven’t figured out Bo’s an alien, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hmmm. After reading the other comments I am surprised this oversharing was intentional. I too just thought he was cluelesss. I also thought it funny that Carmen was secretly happy he didn’t have on a shirt! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Awww, thanks! Luca definitely didn’t have this TMI moment on accident. He’s not any happier about Quincy and Daniella’s fast relationship than Laurel is. He decided to drop some troubling information and see what comes of it.

        Like

      2. Oh! I thought he was maybe a little socially clueless (just like he’s shirtless) or brash–or at least unconcerned. But he’s crafty! 😮 I’m so intrigued by Laurel right now!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

